Resources » Help & Support » FAQ » What are the different User Licenses?

What are the different User Licenses?

When creating a user in Accelo, you'll be prompted to select the user's Access Level, AKA license, from a list of four options.  This Access Level will determine what they can and can not do within your Accelo account.

Administrator

The administrator level offers users full, unrestricted access to all areas of Accelo.  By default, the person who first created your Accelo account is created as an administrator, but additional administrator-level users can be added afterwards.  

Pricing:

This access level is meant for employees who are managing the Accelo account, and is offered at your standard per-user price.

Professional

The professional level is the most commonly-used level, as it can be used to grant or restrict your users the ability to view, edit, and create work, as well as log time, across Accelo.

Pricing:

This access level is meant for your full-time employees who aren't managing the Accelo account, and is offered at your standard per-user price.

Contractor

The contractor level is used to grant your temporary staff access to Accelo to view and log their work.  This access level is meant for outside contractors or temporary employees who need to view and log their own work, but don't need to view other details like employees' schedules or client records.  

Contractors can not see anything that they are not assigned. When a task is assigned or managed by a user (including re-assignment), the system will automatically grant that user View permission for the parent object.  

For example:

  • Assigning a milestone task gives View permission for the Milestone and Project, but not Client.
  • Assigning a milestone gives View permission for the Project, but not Client.
  • Assigning a project task gives View permission for the Project, but not Client.
  • Assigning a client task gives View permission for the client
  • Assigning a sale task gives View permission for the sale, but not Client.
  • Assigning a retainer period task gives View permission for the period and retainer, but not Client.

Pricing:

Since these users do not represent full-time employees, usage-based pricing applies, where the usage test is tied directly to the number of hours the user enters into Accelo (whether that time is billable or non-billable). Contractors are offered on a sliding price scale, based on the amount of time they log each month. The calculation will apply as follows:

  • 0-4 Hours per month: Free
  • 4-40 Hours per month: Half your standard per-user price
  • 41+ Hours per month: Your standard per-user price


Billing:

Unlike the rest of our subscriptions - which are billed a month in advance - we won't know the hours a contractor has worked until the month is over.

For accounts that are billed monthly, you'll see a new line item on your invoice outlining the number of contractors at the different tiers as well as a new display in the Admin Panel showing the tallies of Contractors on a month-to-date basis (so you can see where things are through the course of the month).

For accounts that are currently billed quarterly or yearly, we'll create simple monthly invoices for these post-billed charges and charge your credit card automatically to keep things seamless - you'll also see the same details in the Admin Panel showing you the hours in the current billing cycle, which will reset to zero on your anniversary date each month.

Different clients have different billing anniversary dates (eg, the 16th of the month), and we'll be using these anniversary dates as the period calculation for the hours. 

 

Collaborator

The collaborator level can be used to grant your operations staff limited access to Accelo, and is only available for PSA subscribers.  This level is ideal for users who need to view and update information in Accelo, such as updating contact information and viewing invoices, but don't need to log their time.

Collaborators can not:

  • Log time
  • Manage clients, contacts, sales, projects, issues or retainers
  • Create or manage financial objects such as Sign Offs or Invoices

As a user who won't be logging work in Accelo, Collaborators are also excluded from work management tools like the timesheet and team scheduling.

Pricing:

Because these users are not logging time or managing billable work in Accelo, they are offered for no additional fee

 

Editing User Licenses 

To update the access level (or license) for a user, you need to edit their user profile.

  1. Switch to the Configuration navigation and expand Users & Groups > Users 

    accelo.List Users
  2.  The User List screen will show all active users in Accelo. In the Access Level column you can review the level for each user.
  3. To edit the access level, click the edit icon on the far right, or click on the name of the user and click the edit menu - this will let you edit a number of other details for the user too.
  4. On the Edit User screen, you can adjust the access level at the bottom of the page. Click Save to confirm. Note that the permissions for that user will be updated immediately. Your users will not be warned of a change in access level.

access level